Supreme Court Allows Trump’s Travel Ban to Temporarily Take Effect

On December 4, 2017, the US Supreme Court allowed President Trump’s third travel ban to temporarily take effect while it is being challenged in the appeals courts. It issued orders staying two federal district courts’ preliminary injunctions barring the ban.

The third travel ban encompasses eight countries – six Muslim majority (Chad, Iran, Libya, Yemen, Syria, Somalia), North Korea and Venezuela). It is not a blanket ban, since it allows for certain foreigners to enter the US depending on the country (for example, Iranian students may enter the US).