Employment-based Nonimmigrant Visa

Visa Waiver Program (VWP)

This program permits foreign nationals of certain countries to enter the United States as visitors (business or pleasure) without a visa. Nationals of the following countries are eligible for the VWPP: Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brunei, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Monaco, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, San Marino, Singapore, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, the United Kingdom and Uruguay.

There are several restrictions for VWPP participants, including the following:
A 90-day maximum period of stay, with no opportunity to extend or change status once in the United States (with certain exceptions). A participant in the VWPP who departs the United States to travel to Canada, Mexico, Bermuda or most of the Caribbean Islands may reenter the United States but only up to the original 90-day limit.

The VWPP participant has no right to appeal an immigration officer’s determination of admissibility. The participant also waives the right to contest an order of removal.

Citizens of certain designated countries can travel to the United States for tourism or business for stays up to 90 days without first obtaining a visa. To learn if your country is part of the Visa Waiver Program, call Attorney Monique Kornfeld at 617-323-5049.